Walking in the Rain

I was supposed to walk a 5k last evening. I say supposed to because when we got to Edgewater Park it was rainy and cold. My friend and I sat in her car and debated what we were going to do.  Did we really want to walk in this weather? Would that really be any fun? I came to have fun.

I am happy to say that my friend was in it for the fun also. We had paid for the event and we decided to pick up our numbers and our T-shirt but we weren’t staying for the walk. I love the shirt. It is fluorescent yellow. Love it.

After the race the organizers grill hamburgers and hot dogs for the runners and walkers. My friend and I walked up to the grillers and asked if we could eat before the race. They told us no, but we cajoled them into letting us “test” the first two burgers. You know, just to be sure they turned out well. They were delicious.

We now had two hours to fill before we went to the theater to see Book of Mormon. What should we do? Hmmm….my friend suggested we park downtown and go to a certain Margarita bar that she likes. Hey! good idea. Let’s go.

Both of us had a change of clothes so we could look a bit more presentable at the play. We left those clothes in the car for the time we were at the bar.  We would change into them later and walk to the theater.

To make a long story short we had a great time at the bar. We joked around with some of the bartenders, drank some grande Margaritas until it was time to go. After having a couple of Margaritas, neither of us felt like walking in the rain back to the car to go change clothes. We went to the play in jeans and long sleeve T-shirt for me; stretch capris and sweatshirt for my friend. We walked twelve blocks, went in and enjoyed the play and went home.  A fun evening all around. Even walking the 12 blocks in the rain.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

