Political Ad Shennanigans

I just saw a political ad. It shows the normal this-guy-lost-us-a-bunch-of-jobs interview. What struck me was that this commercial was not FOR any candidate. The end of the commercial states: Vote against Ted Strickland. What? Does that mean the other candidate’s record and activity (Rob Portman is the incumbent) doesn’t support voting for him by name? Just the other guy is worse than I am?

Wow. What are these commercials coming to? I’m waiting for one to say, Don’t bother voting unless you’re voting for me!

This commercial struck me as odd the first time I saw it. I thought, Don’t we know who is running against him? Is there more than one person running against Mr. Strickland? Wow, someone wants us to really not like Ted Strickland.

Of course I’ve seen ads that smear one candidate or the other, but usually in the end, the commercial advises the viewer to vote FOR someone. I don’t think I have seen one that just seems not to care who’s running against him, just DON’T vote for Ted Strickland.

Most commercials tell you to order, call or sign up NOW! My mind has a tendency, when watching commercials, to think: Don’t tell me what to do!

Which is what I thought when I saw this ad. Don’t tell me what to do! Or rather Don’t tell me what not to do!

Well, this is just the beginning. I live in Ohio, which is a swing state. We see a whole lot of political ads here. I’m sure I will see worse ads than this one. There is one other commercial that bothers me, but that’s just because I think it’s all lies. I am used to those.

But telling me who NOT to vote for without mentioning whom the ad thinks I SHOULD vote for seemed odd to me.  I guess the ad did get me to watch, although with my mouth gaping.

I guess the games have begun.

2 thoughts on “Political Ad Shennanigans

  1. Ads that specifically attack another candidate without really mentioning who they are supporting are usually ads paid for by special interest groups and not the candidates themselves (Which is why they’re required now to say who is paying for the ad at the end of it). I rarely watch TV anymore outside of baseball and the music channels, and I am so glad I don’t have to put up with the endless barrage anymore! I hate politics…

    • Yes I am sure some PAC offs behind it. I’ve just never seen anyone just blatantly say, hey don’t vote for him. Period. Maybe it was just the way they presented it. I watch some tv so I know I will see many crazy political commercials.

Leave a Reply

