Walk This Way

I am going with a friend to see the play “Book of Moron” at the end of August.  We are seeing it at one of the big playhouses downtown. I have heard good things about the play and I love attending the theatre, so it should be a good time.

The friend with whom I am attending is a runner.  She will run anywhere! I am more of a walker. Okay, a really slow walker. I am starting to enjoy walking more now, but am no power walker.

The day we go to see the play there is a Nike Summer Race Series 5k run/walk downtown. Somehow my friend thought it would be a great idea to walk this 5k before we go see the play…..I am not sure this is such a good idea.

I guess I’m not wearing any fancy shoes to the show. Even if I kept a pair in my car for after, I think my feet will be swollen into sausages and won’t fit. I will also be wearing something comfortable and breezy. I don’t want to be sweating in some tighter fitting garment while trying to enjoy “The Book of Mormon”.  I will have some type of wet wipe in my car to “freshen up” before going to the theatre. I picture my poor seat neighbor trying not to notice the sweaty person next to them.

My main concern is finishing in time. I haven’t done a 5k in about 15-20 years. And I was slow then and came in last. I don’t want that to happen again. I have been walking since my friend decided this was a good idea. I hurt my back a few days ago and will be going out for the first time in four days.

My friend is a true runner. Here she is doing a Warrior Dash.

There she is in the middle running over FIRE! Did I mention I am a walker? A slow walker? No fire involved.

It’s okay, she will slow down for me. She isn’t going to push me so that it isn’t fun. There is one steep hill I am not going to think about until I get to it. I know this is going to be a big challenge, but the important thing is having fun.

So, here’s to moving out of my comfort zone. I just hope my feet don’t find the new zone too painful! I’m just glad I will be leaving all the door knocking and mission work to “The Book of Mormon”. I don’t think my feet could take any more steps!

4 thoughts on “Walk This Way

Leave a Reply

