Shoes, Glorious Shoes

I bought four pairs of shoes today. Odd for me since I didn’t even own four pairs of shoes for most of my life. I was never into clothes or shoes. I was into T-shirts with pictures of concerts, music, baseball and football and jeans. That was about it. I might have one outfit for any event I might have to attend, which hopefully fit when it was needed. I felt two pairs of shoes were enough. Tennis shoes for everyday wear and some kind of black dress shoes for events were all I needed. Where I worked at the time had a casual dress code so jeans, T-shirt and tennis shoes were fine

A few years back, okay probably 10 years ago, some of my friends took me out to give me a makeover. They had decided I needed to have a more updated look and more than two pairs of shoes. I rejected their idea of me carrying a purse since I haven’t carried one since 1994 and wasn’t about to start again, but agreed to let them pick things out and even to try things on. I hate trying things on. Mostly because they never fit. Every store and every brand has different ideas about what women’s sizes are so my friends insisted on a trip to the dressing room after so many garments were picked out.

It was like torture. I was complaining after the fourth outfit. Nothing fit at the first store. We went all day from store to store to store collecting different parts for outfits. I thought I was going to pass out. I really don’t like shopping at stores.

This makeover did not last long and I went back to my regular T-shirts and jeans with tennis shoes.

I decided to work on losing weight last year and have lost 50 pounds so far. I was still wearing my clothes from my bigger size. I loved those concert T-shirts! Who cares if they are two sizes too large! My friends again began to encourage me to wear other types of clothes, too. One of them gave me an entire wardrobe of tops, shorts, pants and T-shirts that were not covered with a band, Harry Potter, the Beatles or anything like that.

I didn’t think any of these clothes would fit. I couldn’t accept my size difference after the weight loss. Once again my friend made me try everything on. I was amazed when almost all of it fit!

My tennis shoes all of a sudden just didn’t seem right with my new wardrobe. I first got a pair of black flats. Then some sandals; I now have three pair. One black, one beige and one white. I got a couple more pairs of flats, too. So many shoes!

Now I wear a mixed bag of things. I still wear my Zappa shirts, but not as often. I think this would be called dressing like a grown up. It still feels kind of strange. Things like Capri pants and I took forever to get along. They just felt too weird wearing them at first.

Somewhere along this path I found I enjoyed having more of a variety in the way of shoes. Today I bought four pairs at one time! I don’t feel guilty at all since all were on sale or clearance and were each under $20.

I haven’t gotten an EXPENSIVE taste in shoes. I’m a little too frugal still for that.

All I need now is a couple of pairs of boots for winter. Winter is Coming.

5 thoughts on “Shoes, Glorious Shoes

  1. I think sometimes it takes someone else to give us a little push to try new things. I was always a jeans and t shirt girl and then I changed jobs and had to be a little more dressy. I resisted tops by look, but when forced to try them on, I loved them.
    Well done on the weight loss, that’s no easy feat, something to be very proud of 🙂

  2. Congrats on the weight loss! I am needing to lose some weight. So far I have joined a gym. And gone once! I need to pick that up a little, I think. I ended up going on a shoe spree for a while, mostly looking for the perfect walking shoe (since I also do not run, especially not over fire) that would not give me blisters. There isn’t one. When your feet aren’t used to so much of that walking stuff, they protest.

    I hate trying on clothes too, since they almost never fit. They seem to have no idea what women are sized like. They have skinny jeans even for little girls now. My 15-year-old is skin and bones and she didn’t fit in them. I guess they like to encourage anorexia early now? We are still in search of jeans for her. Personally, I’d just like to fit into clothes I already have!

Leave a Reply

