Dragnet and Christmas guns

I’m not a gun person. Let me just say that up front. Guns make me feel unsafe, no matter who has one. I don’t like to be around guns, no matter how much its owner says they know what they’re doing. Guns are made for killing, period. So, I just don’t have any reason to want to be around them.

I am not, however, against anyone owning a gun. I do think there should be some more regulation regarding who can obtain a gun, but I am not against people having guns. I wish fewer people had them, but that’s another story.

I live in the United States and there is a huge gun culture here. More in some parts of the country than others. It goes way back and the NRA will make sure it stays around as long as possible. Lots of people here REALLY love their guns and don’t appreciate anyone who doesn’t. Most people, I think, are just quiet gun owners, not rabid gun nuts. The one bad thing about that is that I might go into a home where someone owns a gun and not know it. I would prefer to be able to have the choice of coming over or not, knowing there is a gun in the house.

I listen to a lot of old time radio shows and Dragnet is one of my favorites. The other night I was listening to a Christmas show from 1949. The story was about a nine year old boy who found his Christmas gift of a .22 caliber gun in its hiding place and took it to play with his friend. The friend tripped with the gun while playing and was shot and killed. What struck me was Friday’s moral for this episode: Don’t buy a kid a gun for Christmas. Wow, what? From an American police story radio show? Don’t give kids guns for Christmas?

I know many people do. I was in Kmart a few years ago when my daughter and I saw a banner saying: Get Your Christmas Guns! Um, no thanks.

I did think it refreshing that a show based on police files was advocating not giving children guns for Christmas. I don’t know, maybe they think it’s okay other times. Sergeant Friday didn’t sound like he thought it was a great idea in general, but that may just be my interpretation since I agree with it.

For those who like or love guns, it’s your right to own them. Have them, enjoy them, tolerate them, whatever. I just really don’t like to be around them, if at all possible.

I know writing about guns can bring up a lot of hot, angry feelings. I am not writing to be contrary. I just love Dragnet.

8 thoughts on “Dragnet and Christmas guns

  1. I find it hard to believe that anyone ever buys a child a gun. But then I also wonder at the whole gun culture thing altogether. It just doesn’t make sense to me. Some may have valid reasons for owning a certain type of gun but they must be few and far between. The rest just boggles my mind.

Leave a Reply

