Happy 50th Beatles anniversary

This year is the 50th anniversary of the Beatles coming to America.  I was 9 months old so I don’t have much recollection of the time. They were already huge in England. The Fab Four!

th85WX1SSX

I started loving the Beatles in 1975, about 5 years after they broke up. There was a mini, second Beatlemania going on in America. I don’t know why it happened then, but I am glad it did. It was a fun time for me. My whole world was one filled with Beatles trinkets and records. My notebooks were plastered with their name and pictures. I attended many Beatles conventions, purchased every Beatles magazine and book I could find, plastered my bedroom walls with Beatles posters and got excited about new releases by any of the former Beatles (John Lennon had announced that year that he was taking 5 years off from his musical career to raise his son. Sean.)

thFGGYUUEB C-06_Gruen

I find that with the 50th Anniversary this year I am as thrilled as I was back in ’75 when I first started liking them. This year there are celebrations, conventions, tribute band concerts, Beatles gear to buy. (Giggle giggle, just like a little kid)

I am lucky that I also have a Beatles Buddy, Merry. She is great fun and we have attended as many Beatles events as we can this year. We listen to Beatles music together, often on record albums! We even got to be friends because I complimented her on a beautiful Beatles hoodie she was wearing one day. We instantly started talking Beatles and were surprised to find that both of us not only like the Beatles, we LOVE the Beatles.

Me and my Beatles Buddy and bff, Merry, posing before attending the Paul McCartney concert in 2013

Me and my Beatles Buddy and bff, Merry, posing before attending the Paul McCartney concert in 2013

My friend and I are going to see a tribute Band on September 15th. Fifty years to the night the Beatles played in Cleveland. The show includes a local celebrity musician playing Beatles songs, and then the nationally recognized tribute band, 1964, will play the exact set played by the Beatles 50 years ago.

1964_beatles_tribute

It’s going to be a fun evening.

Happy 50th anniversary, America!

2 thoughts on “Happy 50th Beatles anniversary

Leave a Reply

