The Fair and Me

I was chatting with a friend on Facebook recently. It wasn’t anything exciting, just “what’s up”, “how’s it going” kind of stuff. I was telling her I got a new phone and none of my calendar information transferred over.

I put everything I have to do on this calendar; everything I have to do that involves leaving the house that is.  My old phone would no longer hold or take a charge and I was desperately trying to charge it just to glance at the calendar and hope to retrieve another appointment. I’m not booked up with dates or activities, but I do have several dentist and doctor appointments coming up that I wouldn’t like to miss.

Anyway, my friend asked me if I was free August 9th. Did I want to go to the county fair? I love the fair. The county fair grounds are in my city so I grew up going to the fair. I checked my newly updated calendar and was naturally free since it is a Saturday. We talked about who would be going and how much fun it is.

thK6CFE27Q th88SZ59KB

Suddenly I remembered….I can’t walk around the fair anymore. Dang! My back and my legs are too bad now for me to do that. I have fibromyalgia and another physical issue which make it hard to be on my feet for too long or to sit in one place for very long. Dang, dang, dang and some other, stronger words! I just totally forgot. The fair has always been a part of my life, I never gave it a thought that I COULDN’T physically go. It feels so odd.

My doctor says the only thing for my back is swimming. It will help strengthen it, but it will never be very strong. Still it can’t hurt. I was a competitive swimmer for six years when I was younger and I started swimming to strengthen my back on doctor’s orders even then.

thDP423FQ3

If I had set any resolution for myself this year it would be to swim and keep swimming. Go swim on a regular basis. I haven’t done this at all. It takes a lot of effort to get up there just to get in the pool. After realizing I can’t go to the fair, such a small thing, I have set a few small goals for myself.

  • Swim at least 3 times a week
  • Keep track of what I eat (I got an app for that, it also records my exercise)
  • Do my neck exercises every morning and every night. (relieve stress and headaches)

I like to start out small. I know getting up and going to swim will be the most challenging, but I need a challenge right now. I need to try something different and carry it through long enough to really determine if it is helping.

I raised three kids. I’ve been married three times (I finally got it right). I’ve survived a lot of crap. I can at least give this a try.

I want to go to the fair next year.

3 thoughts on “The Fair and Me

Leave a Reply

