Ringo!

20140629-102325.jpg
Tonight is the Ringo Starr and his All Starr Band concert in Cleveland. My Beatles Buddy and Bff, Merry and I will be there, of course!

Mer and I just got back from a quick road trip to my daughter and son-in-law’s place in Maryland to pick up the newest member of Mer’s family, their new puppy Mya. She is just so cute. Her parents are my daughter’s two American Bulldogs. Mer, Baby B and I drove up/over on Thursday, visited for a couple hours, slept, picked up Mya and drove home. It was a rough trip. Great to see my daughter and son-in-law, even for such a short time and bond with the granddoggies. It was great to see Mer and Baby B so happy with their new family member. All in all not a bad trip, even though I almost popped my tire doing a U-turn.

I digress.

We took such a short trip so Mer and I would have a chance to rest up before the Ringo show. We have been looking forward to the show for months. We bought our tickets months ago, the day they came on sale.

I saw Ringo with his All-Starr Band years ago. It was probably waaaaay back in the 80s. Probably 1989, the first year they toured. They played at one of our popular outdoor venues, Blossom Music Center. I was lucky enough to see him twice here.

Mer and I are going to another outdoor venue, this one in downtown Cleveland, Jacobs Pavilion. Unlike our baseball stadium, it is not called the Jake, that is what many Clevelanders still call the stadium even though it has been Progressive Field for years now.

It might rain tonight, but we have reserve tickets under the Pavilion. General admission seats are at the top of the bleachers where there is not sufficient coverage during rainstorms. I know this from experience.

Ringo and his Band put on a hell of a show from what I remember and the reviews of his shows. I know Mer and I will have a great time. He will be singing Octopus’s Garden, Mer’s favorite Beatles’ song, along with all of the audience. We get to sign with Ringo!! I mean, we already sang with Paul last summer, but now we will have sung with TWO BEATLES!!

I look forward to his All-Starrs’ contributions. This year’s group includes Todd Rungren so it will be a chance to hear him in concert also. Each of the All-Starrs play at least one of their own songs.

It’s going to be a blast!

12 thoughts on “Ringo!

Leave a Reply

