On the Good Ship Lollipop

I don’t drink anymore. I’m not against it. I just got tired of the headache that came later. When I go out with friends who are drinking I usually order a Shirley Temple. Usually someone laughs. Isn’t that a little kid’s drink?

I remember when we were kids it was a big deal to be somewhere that served drinks. My parents didn’t drink very often, so it was a treat to be somewhere so adult. We kids still usually had pop on these outings (or soda if you call it that where you live), but every so often my mother would order us Shirley Temples. Oooo, what a thrill! Sometimes they even came with a little umbrella! This was high class.

20140606-175546.jpg

I still go out for dinner and/or drinks with friends. Ordering Shirley Temples might sound funny, but when I have a Shirley Temple no one bothers me to drink more, or to start drinking. The drink looks adult, but costs the same as a ginger ale. A win win for me.

The last time a group of us went out, by the end of the evening two more people were asking for Shirley Temples! It’s a fun drink without the kick in the head afterward. You can also add alcohol to make a Dirty Shirley.

In case you would like to try making one the recipe is simple:

3 oz ginger ale
3 oz lemon/lime pop (or Sprite)
splash of grenadine (a nonalcoholic syrup used in drink making)
a maraschino cherry
(you can also add a splash of orange juice)

There are a few different recipes, but this is one of the most popular.

So, the next time you are out and just don’t feel like having an alcoholic drink, but want more than a pop/soda, hop on the Good Ship Lollipop and order a Shirley Temple.

15 thoughts on “On the Good Ship Lollipop

  1. I remembering getting Shirley Temples as a little girl. Unfortunately I was with my dad and he was getting drunk in a bar. I do, though, remember feeling grown up. I haven’t had one in years.

  2. I actually ordered one when we all went for lunch the other day and I wanted something more interesting than straight soda, but couldn’t drink. I’m also quite fond of Italian Cream Sodas lately, though it’s hard to find someone to take them at your average restaurant.

      • Also very easy and totally ok for all ages. Fill your glass about 1/2 full of crushed ice. Pour in about 2 fingers of flavor syrup – you can use grenadine or any of the ones they use to flavor coffee. (I also used a pomegranate twist cocktail mixer the other night – just anything sweet with no booze) Fill the glass about 1/2 up with half & half and then top with club soda. As long as you don’t have trouble with dairy you should be fine.

    • I looked up an Italian Cream Soda and it looks delicious. I am going to ask for one when Mer and I go out to a paint and drink event. Thanks for mentioning them!

      • I hope the recipe you found is close to what I just left for you, though, if not, let me know what you found. Damn, now I’m curious…

Leave a Reply

