His Girlfriend’s Boyfriend

I’ve had some strange things happen in my life. I seem so boring now. I live a pretty quiet life without much controversy. Oh, once or twice the occasional neighbor ticks me off by calling the animal warden on my cats for being loud, but other than that we mind our own business around here.

There was a time when some crazy things were happening in my life. I was 21 years old, married with two children, the younger only a few months old. My husband didn’t think marriage vows were very important. They kind of cramped his style sometimes.

Let’s see if I can set the scene. We live in an upstairs apartment of a four unit building. The apartment is a long hall with rooms off to the left and a front room with a porch. I love this apartment. Except for the fact that my husband is also 21 and dating the 15 year old girl with learning disabilities who lives in the apartment next door. Don’t worry, her mother very much approves of the match. Did I mention the two children we had? One is a 2 and a half year old and the other a baby less than 6 months old.

Okay, this 15 year old girl has another boyfriend. Her mother doesn’t like this man so she tries to get me to leave my husband and let her daughter marry him. When this fails she works on my husband to leave me. He isn’t leaving me since he doesn’t work and I pay all the bills.

This is the basic living situation for me. I live with my husband who is dating the underage learning disabled girl from next door, whose mother approves of the relationship. This girl has another boyfriend who is 19 years old. He is a rough, tough man. The kind of man who, if he loves you is your best friend, but cross him and he will seriously mess you up. Scary, to me because I know his girl is dating my husband. He is our friend right now since he doesn’t know.

You’re probably thinking by now…why is she staying with this loser husband? Well, that is another long story, but basically I loved him. Such an idiot back then.

Back to the story, one night, in the middle of the night we get a knock on the door. My husband is deaf, he doesn’t hear the door, so I go answer it and in walks the boyfriend. He is covered in blood and looks all disheveled. He asks if he can stay the night. He has a knife. He isn’t threatening us with it, we are cool, we are his friends.

He tells me that he needs to hide from the police. He and a friend just tried to rob a man of the pink slip to his car and the man wouldn’t give it to boyfriend, so he slit the man’s throat and left him for dead. Boyfriend just needs to stay till morning then he will leave, he’s going on the lam.

I think about my children sleeping a few rooms away. What will boyfriend do to us if we refuse him? Right now he thinks we are friends so he won’t hurt us. He wants to sleep next to the front door on the floor. I tell him it’s okay, but please go by morning because I don’t want to get in trouble. He says he would never get us in trouble. He promises he’ll be out by dawn.

He keeps his promise and leaves at dawn. He gets caught a few days later, when the man he left for dead survives and identifies the two robbers. Boyfriend goes to jail.

There’s more to this story, like when we went to visit boyfriend in jail, while husband and girlfriend continue to keep company. Like when, finally, the kids and I move out. It was an interesting time. I love my boring life.

4 thoughts on “His Girlfriend’s Boyfriend

    • People who know most of the crazy incidents in my life say I could write a book lol sometimes I’m surprised I survived it all. These days it’s like a different life.

Leave a Reply

