Cut My Hair

http://stuphblog.com/2014/04/18/25-days-of-songs-i-challenge-you/

25 songs in 25 days
Day 21: Your favorite song.

I had such a difficult time picking a favorite song. The Beatles (my absolute favorite band)? Eminem? Frank Zappa? Those are some of my musical loves. I’ve done a post for the 25 songs on a song by each of them. So, I will choose a song by The Who. They are another of my all time faves.

The Who was the first other band I really loved after The Beatles. I was about 14? I got the album My Generation out of the library and was hooked. I just kept renewing that album over and over. I remember being so saddened when Keith Moon died in 1978. I have seen them in concert with Kenny Jones. I love every song…how do I pick one?

I am going with Cut My Hair from Quadrophenia. It is the first song that came to mind. Oh teenage angst. This song is sung by the main character in Quad. Of course, as with all the songs I posted about so far, I love this one.

Cut My Hair by The Who

Cut My Hair by the Who

Why should I care
If I have to cut my hair?
I’ve got to move with the fashions
Or be outcast.
I know I should fight
But my old man he’s really alright,
And I’m still living at home
Even though it won’t last.

Zoot suit, white jacket with side vents
Five inches long.
I’m out on the street again
And I’m leaping along.
I’m dressed right for a beach fight,
But I just can’t explain
Why that uncertain feeling is still
Here in my brain.

The kids at school
Have parents that seem so cool.
And though I don’t want to hurt them
Mine want me their way.
I clean my room and my shoes
But my mother found a box of blues,
And there doesn’t seem much hope
They’ll let me stay.

Zoot suit, [etc.]

Why do I have to be different to them?
Just to earn the respect of a dance hall friend,
We have the same old row, again and again.
Why do I have to move with a crowd
Of kids that hardly notice I’m around,
I have to work myself to death just to fit in.

I’m coming down
Got home on the very first train from town.
My dad just left for work
He wasn’t talking.
It’s all a game,
‘Cos inside I’m just the same,
My fried egg makes me sick
First thing in the morning.

8 thoughts on “Cut My Hair

    • I remember seeing Tommy and The Kids are Alright. I was a Roger Daltrey girl all the way….until I saw Pete Townsend in action. Yeah, I agree Roger is kind of freaky in Tommy. That stare!

      • No, that’s Quadrophenia which is the album Cut My Hair is on. The Kids Are Alright was pretty much a musical history of the Who. Clips, interviews, concerts, videos. My friend and I went to the movies to see Kids Are Alright and stayed for 5 shows a day for like 2 weeks. The theatre didn’t charge us but once a day. We were you fan girls back then. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

