There Ain’t Half Been Some Clever Bastards

http://stuphblog.com/2014/04/18/25-days-of-songs-i-challenge-you/

25 Songs in 25 Days
Day 18: A song you love that you rarely hear.

I thought about several songs for today and was having a difficult time picking a song. I thought, well, most songs I love, I listen to off and on, here and there. I love novelty songs and strange songs, so I started looking for some of these. Kip Adotta’s Wet Dream, Ray Stevens’ s The Streak, Jim Stafford’s Spiders and Snakes, and a few more. None felt like the right song.

Then it hit me! I know! My favorite B-side, There Ain’t Half Been Some Clever Bastards by Ian Dury and the Blockheads. I loved Ian Dury back in the 70s and early 80s and still do. He is a British kind of punk/dance artist; he’s a little difficult for me to describe. I had quite a few of his singles. When I buy a 45 rpm single I listen to both sides. In this case the A-side was Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick. I like this song, but the B-side was what got me with this single.

I think this is a funny song. I love it and my husband loves it but right now I only have the song on a 45 and although I do play 45s, I have maybe 350 and I don’t always get around to this one. But it’s a song I’ve loved since 1978 when I first heard it.

Here’s There Ain’t Half Been Some Clever Bastards by Ian Dury and the Blockheads

There Ain’t Half Been Some Clever Bastards by Ian Dury

Noel Coward was a charmer.
As a writer he was brahma.
Velvet, jackets and pyjamas,
The Gay Divorcee and other dramas.

There ain’t half been some clever bastards
(Lucky bleeders, lucky bleeders)
There ain’t half been some clever bas-tards.

Van Gough did some eyeball pleasers.
He must have been a pencil squeezer.
He didn’t do the Mona Lisa,
That was an Italian geezer.

There ain’t half been some clever bastards
(Lucky bleeders, lucky bleeders)
There ain’t half been some clever bas-tards.

Einstein can’t be classed as witless.
He claimed atoms were the littlest.
When you did a bit of splitt-ly-ness
Frightened everybody shitless

There ain’t half been some clever bastards.
Probably got help from their mum
(who had help from her mum).
There ain’t half been some clever bastards.
Now that we’ve had some,
let’s hope that there’s lots more to come.

There ain’t half been some clever bastards
(Lucky bleeders, lucky bleeders)
There ain’t half been some clever bastards.

Okey-dokey!
Oh!
Segovia.
Da-laa la-laa da-daa da-lee
De dump di dump de dump-dump-diddle li-lee.

There ain’t half been some clever bastards
(Lucky bleeders, lucky bleeders)
There ain’t half been some clever bastards
(Lucky bleeders, lucky bleeders)
There ain’t half been some clever bastards
(Lucky bleeders, lucky bleeders)
There ain’t half been some clever bastards.

4 thoughts on “There Ain’t Half Been Some Clever Bastards

  1. Oh I like this! I liked Ian Dury when he was doing the rounds although I never caught this one. You’re right too that he is difficult to define. I enjoyed looking at all the faces on the video as well and trying to put a name to them all. Didn’t succeed. You gave my brain a workout before bed. 😉 x

Leave a Reply

