Beautiful Boy

http://stuphblog.com/2014/04/18/25-days-of-songs-i-challenge-you/

25 Songs in 25 Days
A song that has made you cry

I found today’s challenge pretty difficult. I don’t normally cry at songs or movies, etc. I talked the subject over with my husband, to see if maybe he remembered me crying at a song. He named a few sad songs, but when he mentioned Beautiful Boy by John Lennon I knew that was the right song. It brought tears to my eyes just thinking about it.

Beautiful Boy is on John Lennon/Yoko Ono’s album Double Fantasy which came out in 1980, just before John was killed. I owned the album, of course. I couldn’t listen to this song without crying after John’s death. The song is about his son Sean; how much he loves him and how John wants to be there as he grows. I didn’t have any children at the time, but was such a huge Beatles fan that it made me very sad for Yoko and Sean and this song really got to me.

In 1982 I had my son, my first child. The first time I heard this lovely tribute to John’s son after my son was born I broke into tears. I couldn’t even listen to the song for years. My life was very chaotic in those days and I often wondered if I would always be able to be there for my son. Things worked out okay with a lot of hard work, but this song still haunted me for years.

As my husband reminded me, the line “I can hardly wait, for him to come of age!” did me in every time. At first it played on my own fears and later it made me cry because I felt so lucky to have been able to do just that with my kids. My mom died of cancer when my son was 15. She wanted so much to see her grandchildren grow up. So listening to it reminded me of the loss of my mother. A lot of emotion attached to a song! And a beautiful song at that.

Anyway, when I found the video on YouTube, I began to listen to it. I made it about 6 seconds before I was crying and 1 minute before I turned the video off. I just couldn’t take the pain. It is a really beautiful song and some days I can even listen to it and not cry.

Here is Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy) by John Lennon

Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)

Close your eyes,
Have no fear,
The monsters gone,
He’s on the run and your daddy’s here,

Beautiful,
Beautiful, beautiful,
Beautiful Boy,

Before you go to sleep,
Say a little prayer,
Every day in every way,
It’s getting better and better,

Beautiful,
Beautiful, beautiful,
Beautiful Boy,

Out on the ocean sailing away,
I can hardly wait,
To see you to come of age,
But I guess we’ll both,
Just have to be patient,
Yes it’s a long way to go,
But in the meantime,

Before you cross the street,
Take my hand,
Life is just what happens to you,
While your busy making other plans,

Beautiful,
Beautiful, beautiful,
Beautiful Boy,
Darling,
Darling,
Darling Sean.

4 thoughts on “Beautiful Boy

Leave a Reply

