A 50 Year Old Fan

I love Harry Potter. I love the books the movies, the collectibles, the fandom. I am a 50 year old woman who loves Harry Potter. I started reading the books back in the late 90s after hearing that this book had gotten kids around the world reading. Millions of kids. I thought, hey, I’d like to read what all the kerfuffle is about.

20130618-083716.jpg

I must have read that first book in a couple hours flat. I know, I know, it’s a kids book. But it was a damn good one. I immediately wanted to know what was next for the boy wizard. (in case you don’t know, the books are about Harry Potter, a boy growing up at a wizarding boarding school from the age of 11-17. He has to fight the evil Lord Voldemort and save the wizarding world from evil.) Maybe it was just that I was looking for something to take me into another world. Nothing difficult or overly complicated. My mother had just died and we were very close, although I don’t know for sure if this contributed to my love of the Wizarding world.

Anyway, I got so into these books that I joined on line fandoms, listened to HP related podcasts, went to a convention, visited the Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal in Florida. One thing I will say about the HP fandom is how accepting they are of everyone of any age. You love HP? You’re in.

I have read and loved the Lord of the Rings, Song of Ice and Fire, The Dragon Knight and other adult fantasy series. I also read The Hunger Games, and yes, even Twilight. I had a lot of fun with all these series, but the most fun belonging to the Harry fandom.

The fandom has moved on to charity and human rights issues. All in the spirit of the books and the good vs evil theme.

Okay, so maybe I am weird, but I am old enough not to care. I love Harry Potter and everything that goes along with the books.

Does anyone else love or even like the Harry Potter books? Or any series you love to read? Just interested and I might find another series to read!

2 thoughts on “A 50 Year Old Fan

Leave a Reply

