Holiday ambitions

I used to Christmas shop on Christmas Eve every year. I could get bargains and everything was purchased at one time. One shot deal. My husband I and went after work many times.

This year, however, I think I’d better start sooner and do more on line shopping. I don’t like being in the stores. I used to like crowds, more people to see and interact with. Today, I don’t want to deal with crowds or stores. My adult children all live out of state so shopping on line is helpful. I can just ship gifts right to them. Even less stress.

I still have to get up the energy and gumption to get on line and shop. I have never been a big shopper so it is a challenge. What do I get the kids? The older they get the more difficult it gets to buy them meaningful gifts. I don’t like just sending money although my son loves that gift. I want them to have something to OPEN on the holiday. I have some small children to buy for. These gifts are the easiest and most fun to buy.

My husband helps pick out the gifts, which helps. I don’t have to come up with all the ideas. This is a huge help. I don’t think I could do it alone anymore. He does most of the wrapping that needs to be done, which is a good thing if you have ever seen my wrapping skills.

My sister-in-law is already talking about Christmas dinner. After the fiasco at Thanksgiving I think my husband and I will have Christmas dinner home together. I can stop over to exchange gifts after dinner. I will have the gifts ready ahead of time this year. I plan to have all the kids gifts either purchased on line, shipped or wrapped before the holiday so I can relax this year.

Last year was a blur. I had just gotten out of the hospital. I want to be able to remember this year and have it be as stress free as possible. Which means getting shopping done before Christmas Eve.

Leave a Reply

